you're reading...
Special Feature (interviews)

Nikki Lund Is All About Living In Her Truth

FB_IMG_1444817729399Nikki Lund is more than a Fashion Designer. She is a woman with a creative vision in music and fashion. Her truth is being an artist and helping young adults overcome bullying. She recently was giving an important role as the Self-Esteem Ambassador for Boo 2 Bullying which is an anti-bullying organization. She travels to different schools and speaks to students. There is a lot to learn about Nikki and she is telling it all to us in this interview.

WE Mag: Please give us 3 adjectives that describe you.

NL: Passionate, sensitive, and artistic

WE Mag: What challenges or obstacles did you have to overcome to be where you are today?

NL: Being a woman in this business is difficult and being a blond. People have a perception about blonds. I had issues with people understanding me as being a designer, artist, and musician.  They think you cannot do all these things at once. But you can do all things. This is the reason we have social media to showcase all your talents. I also had issues with an eating disorder when I was younger.  I had to go to counseling to understand why I used food as a way of control since I couldn’t control the chaotic environment in my life at that point. I was in counseling for 1 year to help me deal with deeper issues with why I had to control. That is the reason I have natural women in my runway shows.

WE Mag: Do you have any regrets? If yes, what are your regrets?

NL: I believe in process, destiny, and faith. I believe that things happen for a reason.

WE Mag: Who were the people in your life that influenced you to do better?

NL: My mother, father, sister, 2 brothers, nieces, nephew, and Finance. My parents instilled good values in me. I was raised in a Christian home. They gave me good advice.

WE Mag: How did you know Fashion Design was for you?

NL: I did not have a plan to go into fashion. I was a musician first. My mother and grandmother sewed and I remember sewing with them. Music and Fashion goes hand in hand.

WE Mag: What advice would you give women who want to design their own collection line?

NL: If you want to do anything in life you have to work harder. The fashion business is a difficult industry. It is not glamourous.

WE Mag: When it gets chaotic, how do you find peace?

NL: Music, family, friends, ocean, and the beach.

WE Mag: What makes you a Woman of Strength?

NL: Overcoming obstacles and perseverance.

Interview  by Claire K.Guerre

Discussion

One thought on “Nikki Lund Is All About Living In Her Truth

  1. Great article…not only is Nikki Lund beautiful and talented, she is a person with a kind and beautiful soul.

    Posted by Debbie Jacobovitz | October 15, 2015, 7:04 am

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 14,392 hits

Contact Us today

Email: wemagazinee@gmail.com

Advertise with us

