you're reading...
Relationships

” SORRY, I CAN’T MAKE IT AGAIN…”: DO YOU HAVE A LIMITED ENGAGEMENT TYPE OF FRIENDSHIP?

CAN'TMAKEIT

 I’m blessed to have a diverse array of loving, compassionate friends in my life.  No matter their personalities – laid back, adventurous, free-spirited, reserved – they all have one thing in common: they’ll always have my back (and I theirs).  But certain friendships, I’ve noticed, have specific confinements that put unnecessary strains on the relationship.

One such friendship is of the limited engagement kind.  I’m not referring to a seasonal friendship – here for the summer, gone come fall.  Limited engagements aren’t created out of necessity because of a factor like proximity.  These types of friendships occur because one person in it always has an excuse prepared.  You invite her to see a movie, go to dinner or a club, but she’s quick to turn down all of your offers.  Her reasoning?  She’s short on cash, doesn’t have anyone to watch her child, doesn’t have the time, or fill in the blank.  These are all very valid excuses that are easy to understand and relate to.  Heck, you’ve been there yourself.  The problem occurs when this kind of friend always give you an excuse, no matter what.  You offer solutions – “Don’t worry, my treat.”  Or, “How about we just have a girl’s night at my place or yours?”  You are all kinds of flexible and accommodating, but they don’t budge and turn you down frequently.  Getting this friend to hang out with you is like pulling teeth.

June 16, 2015 ‐ By Nneka Samuel

About Lovely Haitian

I am a Haitian American Woman. I came to the United States when I was only 2 years old. Some may say I am Americanized but the truth is I was raised in the Haitian culture and I am proud of it. I am also proud of becoming a Citizen of the U.S. I love to laugh and meet new people everyday. It is interesting to listen to other people's stories and life experiences. I learn from each person I meet everyday and I expect new experiences in my life. I encourage everyone to "Live, Love, and Laugh." Life is too short and time is very precious. It waits for no one.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 17,093 hits

Contact Us today

Email: wemagazinee@gmail.com

Advertise with us

