you're reading...
Self

My Mother Is In Heaven

mommy

My Mother Is In Heaven by Lovely Haitian

My mother passed away on June 04, 2006. This was the saddest day of my life. I felt a part of me was missing the day she was pronounced dead. I was empty and unsure about so many things. You never get over your loved ones death. You just learn to live with the reality they are in heaven and know someday you will be reunited with them. After her passing, Mother’s Day was very hard for me. I avoided it. Mother’s Day was too painful for me to acknowledge along with her birthday and my mother’s favorite holidays. I only felt sad and empty. But last year I started to acknowledge those days and I no longer feel sad. I feel happy remembering her smile when I surprised her with  gifts & cards on her birthday. I remember her joy as she was searching every store in Brooklyn to buy the doll I wanted when I was 6 years old,  for Christmas “Baby That- a-way.” It was a doll that could crawl on the floor. I remember her laughter as she watched her grandchildren open their gifts. I know my mother continues to live in all her children and grandchildren. She is always in my thoughts, dreams, and heart.   I could see she was happiest when she with her family.

My mother was a simple woman who never asked for much. All she wanted was to protect her family. She wanted all of us to always be together. She valued her family. It was important for her to have her family near her. She worked so hard in the 1970’s to bring her younger sister and big brother to the United States from Haiti. She had to sacrifice so much for her siblings to get them to the United States.

My mother was a very sensitive and caring woman. She always gave to people who were in need of her help. But she was strict with her children. She did her best to raise my siblings and I. I believe she was tougher on us to protect us.

My mother is in Heaven watching over everyone she loves. This is the best way for her to always protect her family by being an angel. I miss her so much. I embrace the dreams I have of her. The last dream was my mother and I having a wonderful conversation. It felt so real.

My mother and I at a dinner event at Adelphi University in 1994.

My  mother holding me and my 2 brother on each side.

About Lovely Haitian

I am a Haitian American Woman. I came to the United States when I was only 2 years old. Some may say I am Americanized but the truth is I was raised in the Haitian culture and I am proud of it. I am also proud of becoming a Citizen of the U.S. I love to laugh and meet new people everyday. It is interesting to listen to other people's stories and life experiences. I learn from each person I meet everyday and I expect new experiences in my life. I encourage everyone to "Live, Love, and Laugh." Life is too short and time is very precious. It waits for no one.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 16,020 hits

Contact Us today

Email: wemagazinee@gmail.com

Advertise with us

