you're reading...
Business & Career

The Business Journey to Vice President

PM_4

Pauline Malcolm has always been intrigued by the business world. She studied Executive Leadership at Harvard Business School and went on to hold high positions in the corporate world. Woman’s Essence Magazine (For & About Powerful Women) is honored to have Pauline Malcolm share her journey to Vice President and how she is balancing being a wife and motherhood.

Give us a road map of your journey to becoming a Vice President at a major media company. Example, credentials, experience, and attitude.

I have always been fascinated with the transformative power and effect of technology on business industries, social behaviors and life in general.  When I was in college in the late 90’s I majored in Marketing and minored in Computer Science. I was intrigued by programming and creating things through technology but was not left brain enough to be a programmer. I enjoyed presenting + solving business problems so I felt I was better suited for marketing but was quite sure how I could put the two passions together.  Remember this was the early days of the Internet when people were still on dial up if they even had Internet in their homes and we were on the tipping point of the first dot com wave. I kept reading about all of these tech entrepreneurs in Silicon Valley, who were young and starting new businesses and business models such as Amazon who would forever change how we buy books or any product for that matter. Moreover Amazon put decade old businesses like Borders out of business and forced Barnes and Nobles to reimagine their business. This was just the beginning of the new business Titans that now dominate Wall Street and the world like Google when they were just getting there start in someone’s garage in the valley.

What inspired you to take on a big responsibility? I love to blaze new trails and work on projects that have never been done before.

Looking back when you were in college was being Vice President of a company your #1 goal?

My goal was to be an entrepreneur actually but I have found my niche in working for new companies in a leadership role where I get a stake in the business in the form of equity and it gives me a sense of ownership to help build and drive a business forward like an entrepreneur but there is still that safety net of a bigger conglomerate behind you like health benefits, etc.

How do you manage being a wife, mother, Vice President, and Pauline Malcolm?

It’s a tough balancing act sometimes with business travel, client events, etc., but my husband and daughter give me such peace and love so when I come home it’s like a safe haven to turn “off” and I don’t need to be “on”.  I can just be a wife and mom and keep work at work and you need that balance to stay productive and not get burned out in your career.

Family Picture

By Claire Guerre Aka Lovely Haitian

About Lovely Haitian

I am a Haitian American Woman. I came to the United States when I was only 2 years old. Some may say I am Americanized but the truth is I was raised in the Haitian culture and I am proud of it. I am also proud of becoming a Citizen of the U.S. I love to laugh and meet new people everyday. It is interesting to listen to other people's stories and life experiences. I learn from each person I meet everyday and I expect new experiences in my life. I encourage everyone to "Live, Love, and Laugh." Life is too short and time is very precious. It waits for no one.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 16,021 hits

Contact Us today

Email: wemagazinee@gmail.com

Advertise with us

