you're reading...
Self

The key to committing to your New Year’s Resolution!

make it happenEvery New Year, there are people around the world are making promises to themselves. The majorities of people never follow through or quit in the middle. Why are we having a challenge with committing to our New Year’s Resolutions?

The Free Dictionary defines Resolution as The state or quality of being resolute; firm determination. I define it as having the desire to resolve something about you or making a promise to yourself to accomplish a goal. Some may agree with me or disagree. The most common New Year Resolution is to lose weight or quit smoking. Most people who make that promise find it so hard to keep.

I would like to share with you the key to helping you commit to your New Year Resolution. It is simple. Only you can do it.

I am a fan of Dr. Wayne Dyer. He is an author and a motivational speaker. I enjoy reading his books, quotes, and watching his videos. I strongly agree with him when he stated “Change Your Thoughts, Change Your Life.” He has a full video and book on it. When I watched the video, I was impressed.

Have you ever heard of the saying “You are what you eat?” Well it is the same as “You are what you think.” I shared this with my brother. He asked me “how do you change your thought when you have been programmed to think this way for a long time?” I thought that was a good question. I told him, “It is making a decision to change the way you think. Once you make that choice the next step is to make it into a habit.”   It is not going to be easy but it is not impossible to change the way you think. Someone who wants to lose weight can begin to think it every day and develop habits that can help the weight come off.   However, there are sometimes deep rooted issues that make people eat to find comfort. When you decide to face those issues and begin to think differently about yourself then you have a good chance of losing the weight. Instead of thinking I do not deserve to be skinny, I do not deserve to be healthy, and I do not deserve to feel good about myself, change your thinking to I deserve to be skinny, healthy, and feel good about me.

Mariann Williamson the author of “Return to Love” stated “You may believe that you are responsible for what you do, but not for what you think. The truth is that you are responsible for what you think because it is only at this level that you can exercise choice. What you do comes from what you think.”

We make promises to ourselves every New Year hoping to resolve something about us. If you are serious about your New Year Resolution, then you have to make a choice today to change the way you think about you and make it into a habit that you cannot live without. The way you thought in the past is the past. Now focus on the present and start thinking differently. What is your New Year’s Resolution for 2015?

By Claire Guerre

Read more stories from our editor here : CLICK

About Lovely Haitian

I am a Haitian American Woman. I came to the United States when I was only 2 years old. Some may say I am Americanized but the truth is I was raised in the Haitian culture and I am proud of it. I am also proud of becoming a Citizen of the U.S. I love to laugh and meet new people everyday. It is interesting to listen to other people's stories and life experiences. I learn from each person I meet everyday and I expect new experiences in my life. I encourage everyone to "Live, Love, and Laugh." Life is too short and time is very precious. It waits for no one.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 14,392 hits

Contact Us today

Email: wemagazinee@gmail.com

Advertise with us

